Too much crimp?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by XDRoX, Feb 20, 2010.

1. XDRoX

XDRoX

I'm still learning the basics of reloading and want to learn more about crimping.
    What I already learned:
    Too much crimp will get a bullet stuck in the crimping die:whistling:
    This is how I have been crimping my last couple batches. They shoot fine. So far 100% reliable. But am I still crimping too much? I took a photo. The round on the left is a factory Winchester, the round on the right is one of my reloads. You can obviously see the crimp is much more noticeable on the reload.

Is this OK? Can it potentially cause problems? Any other crimping info would be great.

Thanks

[​IMG]

2. Kentucky Shooter

Kentucky Shooter NRA Life Member

The RCBS directions say the top of the case neck right below the bullet should measure several thousandths less than the case closer down toward the base. I don't think it takes a lot of crimp to serve the purpose unless you have some really hard recoiling rounds.

3. XDRoX

XDRoX

Thanks for the info.
    With the factory round if I run my fingernail down the bullet there is a sharp edge of the shell that my nail hits.
    On my reloads that edge is slightly curved in a bit, which I believe you can see in the picture.
    Should I try to avoid this "curve"?

4. Poppa Bear

Poppa Bear Protective G'pa CLM

Pull one and check the bullet. If the bullet is showing signs of deformation then you are putting on to much crimp. If the bullet looks like one that was never used then you are good to go.

You want just enough crimp to take out the bell put in by the powder/ bell die.

5. XDRoX

XDRoX

This is what I wanted to know. I did pull one and you can see a mark where the crimp was. I will ease off a bit.

Are the rounds that I already made safe to shoot. I assume since I already shot a lot of them and there wasn't any problems I'm OK, but could it cause a problem?