close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Tips on slow internet access?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Redsnake, Sep 28, 2004.

  1. Redsnake

    Redsnake

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Need some tips from any of the network/PC/intenet gurus on this site.

    As of about 2 weeks now my connection to the intenet is very slow. Some sites load very repidly and some take what seems like forever to load. I was thinking it could be some spy-ware, but I've run Ad-aware and Spybot several times and I still get the same results when I get online.

    The strange thing is it's only a few websites that seem to act this way... these same sites I've visited many times in the past and have not had trouble with.

    Any suggestions or tips are appreciated.

    And before you go there... I don't surf the 'pron' while at work and keep to work-safe websites.

    Thanks,
    Eric
     
  2. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Messages:
    27,139
    Likes Received:
    5,534
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    Have you cleared out your cache lately?
     

  3. Redsnake

    Redsnake

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Yep... cleaned up my cache, history, cookies, etc... everything I can think of.

    I'm wondering if by chance one of the spy-checks (Ad-aware or Spybot) deleted a file that I need and is causing me this trouble. Sometimes ignorance is not bliss... ;Q
     
  4. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Messages:
    27,139
    Likes Received:
    5,534
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    What DNS servers are you using?
     
  5. Redsnake

    Redsnake

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Ok.... here's the 'ignorance' part... as I don't even know what "DNS" stands for here.

    I can't answer that question.
     
  6. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Messages:
    27,139
    Likes Received:
    5,534
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    Open a DOS window (Start|Run|CMD (or command if you're in Win 98, etc). At the DOS prompt enter "ipconfig/all". One (or more) line should say DNS servers and have a series of IP addresses (four numbers separated by periods). Post what they are. It's possible they are having problems.

    Also, you didn't say, but are you on dial-up, DSL, or what? Home or work?
     
  7. tna55

    tna55

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    DNS= Domain Name Server, they translate the website name to an IP address. It could be that the servers are just slow or busy.
     
  8. Redsnake

    Redsnake

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Ok thanks...

    I am at work, we have a T1 line (I believe). Perhaps I should chat w/my IT contact here... but didn't want to bother if it was an easy fix.
     
  9. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Messages:
    27,139
    Likes Received:
    5,534
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    Yep, that would be the best thing to do. ;)
     
  10. Redsnake

    Redsnake

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    ha ha...

    Thanks for the constructive answers and not criticism... :)
     
  11. 9mm*starman

    9mm*starman Proud American

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  12. grantglock

    grantglock /dev/null

    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    Iowa
    If you have a T1 and a decent router you can see what kind of traffic is going through your pipe with MRTG, ask your IT guy if he has MRTG installed.

    here is mine



    http://monitor.win-4-u.net/mrtg/cisco.html
     
  13. zanthope

    zanthope Me At 7

    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2000
    Location:
    Southern Ohio
    How do you clean out the cache?
     
  14. Redsnake

    Redsnake

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    "Idiot!!!" .... HA HA... constructive criticism from another Okie ;g


    LOL... ;f

    To clean your cache... go to the top of your web browser and the Tools, Internet Options, [Temporary Internet Files location] Delete Files... this should clean our your temporary (cache) files.

    Someone please correct me if I'm mis-informed.