Tips on Investing?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by BGDaddy, Sep 29, 2018.

1. BGDaddy

BGDaddy Nurse Extraordinaire

Hi All,

I started investing in the stock market about a month ago. I'm 50, and have no real retirement plan, so I decided to go all in and see what happens.

I got a 30 day trial subscription to the Motley Fool, and have not been impressed. I cancelled it this morning.

I have also discovered Barron's and Investor's Business Daily. So far, they seem a little more my speed.

I have invested in 12 different stocks so far. Amazon and Nvidia have done the best so far. I also invested in US Concrete, and that one is down 10%. It is getting sold first thing Monday morning. Overall, I am down about 0.5% in the past month, so it has been a good learning experience so far.

At least I am putting my money in something other than motorcycles and guns for a change.

Any tips from the masses?

treg and catman71 like this.
  2. Ramjet38

Ramjet38 Mentally Frozen

Good luck to ya.

Why did you wait so late to realize that your 4th quarter of life is approaching?

3. rlogue06

rlogue06

My own preference is Betterment, it’s kind of set it and forget it. It invests automatically.

Read or download the audio book “The Simple Path To Wealth” by JL Collins - very simple and straight forward. I learned a lot from it.

WeeWilly and BGDaddy like this.
  4. Bruce M

Bruce M

Times like this I really miss Dennis in Mass. I think especially considering retirement, a financial advisor would be a great choice. Even an hour with the right guy at your bank or credit union which would most likely cost you nothing may prove very helpful.

5. BGDaddy

Stupidity, I guess.

Don't get me wrong, I am doing okay. I make good money, my house is paid off, and I have some other assets that could be converted to cash relatively easily. I just haven't really gone out of my way to save for retirement. But I turned 50 a couple months ago, and it hit me like a ton of bricks!