close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Tips for someone just starting in corrections?

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by Gear, Apr 7, 2010.

1. Gear

Gear Silver C/O Silver Member

Ok I am somewhat new to GT and Cop Talk since its my first thread. I am going into corrections with my local Sheriffs Department this summer and was just curious if anyone had any good tips or info of what I should and shouldn't do on the job.

2. RocPO

RocPO

"No" should be your favorite word. It's easier to change no to yes then vice versa.
    EVERY ONE of them is going to lie to you. They've got 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to learn how to play people.
    Read "Games Criminals Play", forget the author's names.
    Firm, Fair and Consistent when dealing with inmates.
    They're NOT your friends. Don't do any "favors" for anyone not wearing your uniform.
    That goes for civilian staff too.

3. mesteve2

mesteve2

So will your family at home.

Think about taking a shower and change clothes and shoes before going home.

Take your duty clothes to a laundry and not home.

This might help.

Good luck.

Wash your hands after touching anything or any of the prisoners!

Go luck.

Not to scare you but educate you.:embarassed:

4. KillStick

KillStick

They will try and manipulate you like no other but don't give in. Always confirm what they say don't just believe them. Always try and keep some space when at possible from them, and always watch them. Don't let them walk around you, you walk around them. Be firm and fair, don't show bias and don't become friends with them. They will try just about anything to get what they want and they have all the time in the world to come up with ideas to achieve this.

5. KillStick

KillStick

^:thumbsup: