close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Thumb Safety in 1911 for Recoil Management

Discussion in 'Band of Glockers' started by Putok-Glock, Mar 9, 2007.

1. Putok-Glock

Putok-Glock

Hi BoGs,

Shooters riding their shooting thumb on the thumb safety are not unanimous on this: In a firing grip, the thumb pushing down some pressure on the the thumb safety helps alot in recovering faster from recoil, resulting in a faster follow up shot when needed.

My present grip is that my thumb just rests w/o pressure on top of the thumb safety. I tried the above style but I feel awkward specially on my trigger control. Maybe Im just not used to it and some practice might make me feel comfortable.

But is this really worth trying? How effective is it in managing recoil?

Im a newbie in this and still in the process of developing my technic. Your opinions/ideas/experience on this will be of great help.

TIA.

2. isuzu

isuzu

In my experience, placing my thumb on the (thumb) safety is better than placing it under the safety. There is a tendency to engage the safety when your thumb is under it.

The grip also feels secure.

The best way is to experiment and choose what technique suits you.

3. revo

revo

won't putting hand pressure on the thumb safety torque the gun counter-clockwise ?

I'll try it this weekend.

4. horge

horge -=-=-=-=- Lifetime Member

A looooong time ago...

I tried it and sliced the skin of my thumb in the process:
    with stout recoil (the sort that would demand this 'technique'
    to begin with), the odds are there that your thumb moves closer
    to getting pressed against the cycling slide, and then 'fall'
    partway into the safety notch.

No biggie unless its your thumbnail that catches the notch.
    Guess it depends on handsize and thumb length.

5. st. matthew

st. matthew c_w@_u_need_2_c

kuya bong, don't mind the safety just shoot it like a glock
    :supergrin: