close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Thinking of picking up a 1911

Discussion in '1911 Forums' started by Loudcherokee, Feb 28, 2010.

1. Loudcherokee

Loudcherokee SouthPawGlocker

So, lately, after shooting someones 1911 at the range, I'm kind of getting the itch. I already own 2 glocks, an HK, and a Ruger revolver. I'm pretty sure I want to add a 1911 to the mix.

I'm used to my plastic pistols, but I'm new to the 1911, and I have a few questions.

Officer, Commander, and Government models. I'm getting that this has something to do with the size or length, but what is the size of each, and where does the Taurus PT1911 fall in this grouping?

How easy are they to take down and clean? Again, I'm used to my Glocks, and even the HK is a breeze to strip blindfolded. Is there more cleaning involved with a 1911?

SA/DA only? From what I've been told, you can have either SA or DA in a 1911, but not both, like my HK USP-C for example. Is cocked and locked the only way to carry a 1911? And if the hammer were to fall for some unknown reason, would the grip safety still keep the gun from discharging?

What options are available for customizing, to make my 1911 MINE? I know the grips are changeable, but what about the other hardware on the gun? Triggers, hammers, safeties, etc? Also, can the mag release be made ambi? I am a lefty. It's easy enough to manipulate with my trigger finger, but the option of an ambi mag release would be nice. Where's a good place for parts, and can the work be done by myself, or would I have to pay a smith?

Is there a break in procedure, and if so, how is it done?