thinking about getting a crossbow

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by Bonk, Jun 29, 2005.

1. Bonk

Bonk Millennium Member

Virginia recently changed their game laws to allow anyone, not just folks with a doctor's note, to hunt during deer season with a crossbow.

Anyone have one? I've handled a few in the store, even shot a Barnett once, but wanted to see what the gurus here think.

2. BlackBelt

BlackBelt

Well, I'm no 'guru', as I've had one for just over a month. But I have been shooting mine at least 4-5 times a week since I've gotten it. I bought a Barnett Quad 400. It is powerful enough to take down a deer, and is REALLY a lot of fun.
    Once I started playing around with it, I understood why people that have them love them so much. It's just cool. I love just target shooting with it.
    One piece of advice: if you are going to shoot it a lot, buy a cocking device of some kind. The first time I shot mine, I probably shot it 30 times. It has a 150 lb. draw, and the next day I was really feeling that in my shoulders. I went to BassPro shops and bought a rope cocking device that cuts the pull required to cock it by at least 50%.
    Plus, I was able to do a little shopping around on the net and get the whole package- the crossbow, 4 bolts, scope, and shipping for under $295!!! I thought that was a great deal!

3. TScottW99

TScottW99 NRA Life Member

I know nothing about them but have been looking around. Bum shoulder is making my regular bow a pain! Here is the one I have been drooling over....

http://www.excaliburcrossbow.com/exocet200.htm

Bonk, Tom is a Parker dealer and could proably get you a good price on one of the Parkers...

http://www.parkerbows.com/terminator.html

I bought a Parker Compound off of him last fall and really like the bow. Good product. I know he has had trouble keeping their crossbows in stock, I'm guessing with the new law it will really up the sales.

4. Bonk

Bonk Millennium Member