close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

The UItimate Budget HDTV

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by illuminate100, May 2, 2006.

1. illuminate100

illuminate100 CTR

I know, I know, there are a million posts that start out something like this:

"Which HDTV should I buy, I'm interested..."

But this is my first post, I'm not a newbie, but I am VERY interested in what you experiences videophiles have to say to help me decide. I just want to know which LCD or PLASMA I should go with for my Xbox 360 and HD film needs.

I am in the market for my first HDTV and I've done pretty extensive research. Here are my needs and requirements (disclaimer: all financial requirements have been instituted by my wife, the family Chief Financial Officer or CFO):

1. I want to spend between $1,200-2000 and want a TV that is 37" or larger.

2. Although I like DLP and RP-LCDs just fine, I'm in the market for an LCD flat panel or plasma.

3. The TV will be primarly for gaming and DVD, but we watch some TV (SD via satellite...I'm not ready to shell out the bucks for HD programming quite yet).

4. I want a TV that can keep up with the high demands of next-gen console gaming.

5. 720P is fine with me.

6. At least one HDMI input.

So, basically it comes down to this:

Which LCD or plasma fits this bill?

Some of the TV's I'd consider at this point include:
    Samsung LN-S4051D 40 Widescreen LCD HDTV (due to it's high 4000:1 contrast ratio, 8ms response, and wide viewing angles)

Plasmas:???? I don't know a lot about plasmas and this is something I'm hoping you can help me change. Any kick butt sub $1700 plasmas out there that will do great with gaming and fast paced HD film content?

Thanks ya'll!

-Dan

2. RaiderRodney

RaiderRodney Just Win Baby

Not sure in your price range but I picked up one of the 27" CRT Samsung HDTV's and it is impressive. I was all ready to get a SONY until I got there and saw how crappy they looked compared to the Samsungs ;)

3. nickg