close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

The Time To Upgrade Is Upon Us!

Discussion in 'The Players Club' started by fastvfr, Aug 12, 2004.

1. fastvfr

fastvfr Ancient Tech

Hello, everyone;

Well, I have been using computers since before there were PC's, and I have never seen a better time than right now to upgrade to a better rig.

The incredible gains in performance, both in hardware and software, have been coming down the pike at an increasingly rapid pace, and this pace is not likely to slow anytime soon! Not to mention the effort a PC has to expend just running the basic malware apps in the background...the days of the 1GHz machine are coming to an end.

I know it isn't easy, saving up over $1000 for a PC, but I build these things for a living and I am always answering questions from frustrated K6 and PII/III users. Funny thing is, the client usually answers their own queries!

For instance, a Dell (>shudder<) just three years ago would set you back $1000 to $3000, depending on specs.

I can build the rig in my sig for less than $1500. And, it is vastly superior to any OEM (besides Falcon, AlienWare, ect. - 1/3 the $$$ and ALL the performance!) for the same price as an antique Compaq or Gateway.

So I am commonly heard to quip, "If not now, when?"

Then, something similar to this usually transpires:

Client: "Can't afford it. Don't need that good of a PC, anyway."

"If you buy the MOBO now, and the memory also if you can afford it, you will be well on your way. Then, if you can afford it next month, get the FX 5950 and pick up the PSU, case, UPS and drives the month after that."

"I can do that?!"

"Sure. You could find the parts online and order them one at a time, if need be. That way you will get a much better machine since you won't be skimping on parts, or worrying about upgrading them later!"