close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

The plates.......

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by AggieMM, Dec 6, 2004.

1. AggieMM

AggieMM Aggie Glocker

This past weekend in San Antonio, I competed in my first competition since becoming a gun owner three months ago. I have only shot about 700 rounds so far, so I'm still learning. Going into the event, my goal was not to finish last. :) Considering that I'm a newbie, I felt pretty good with my efforts on shooting the M and 5, with best scores (shot two classes) of 72.90 on the M and 75.36 on the 5.

HOWEVER, when I got to the plates (last event to shoot), I failed miserably. In my first division, I left 5 standing, and the score was 122. In my second shoot, I did much better, 0 standing, but the score was 42.58. I had to go back and reshoot at missed plates several times.

Any tips on the plates? Any practice techniques to use at the range?

BTW - Had a great time, and thank you to all of the ROs that were nice to me, giving me advise on how to improve! I will definitely shoot GSSF events again!

Ryan

2. TrooperDan

TrooperDan

Front sight! :) And lots of dry-firing so you learn to press the trigger without throwing the sights off target.

3. Terminator

Terminator

4. pangris

pangris Moderator

I hate to say this, but...

Practice :)

But to be a little less direct -

Find a shooting school in your area and go to it. I had been shooting for 20 years and my first three day class amazed me. I improved 100%. Part of it is the instruction and moderation, part of it is the volume of fire. TDSA ( http://www.tdsa.net/ ) comes to mind. If you are in Dallas, you are in luck.

Next, buy the Advantage Arms .22 conversion. For $200-$250, this is the accessory no Glock should be without. YOu can shoot a LOT more fore a LOT less and have little to no recoil in the process. LOts fo reps, cheap with no bad habit forming recoil.