close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

The high cost of a college education continues to rise

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Mr981, Oct 25, 2012.

1. Mr981

Mr981

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-10-24/u-s-colleges-raise-tuition-4-8-outpacing-inflation.html

Apparently, universities have decided that their customers will just have to come up with the cash however they can, rather than the schools freeze or reduce tuition costs.

When I graduated from a fairly expensive private school in the mid-70's tuition ran about $50/hour; that same school charges about $950/hour. In 2012 dollars, my ending tuition rate was $235/hr--leaving $700/hr to pay for stuff which I suspect we didn't have.

The ability to borrow from private lenders/Feds has helped fuel this run up, since I doubt students could finance this on their own (summer jobs/parents).

2. kensb2

kensb2 pistol n00b

My BS IT degree from UMass (which will be done completely online) is going to run me right around $40k ($360/CH). That doesn't include the cost of books. I'm eligible for $9750 per school year in TA/reimbursement via the Army Reserves and my civilian job. I'd say I'll end up maybe 5K out of pocket tops when all is said and done. There's no way I could ever pay that out of pocket if loans weren't available to me. My wife, on the other hand, is going to a local university for her MSBS, and is only paying $191/CH on campus. I looked into ITT, they're running around $76k for an online BSIT degree, and over 100k at one campus! :wow:

3. JMS

JMS 02

4. HOTHEAD

HOTHEAD

50k for Daughters BS Chem Eng from RIT. She got a 50% scholarship.

:crying: It hurts BAD

5. Fox184

Fox184

And the big problem is the education isn't paying off much once people graduate with a degree.

Get a 50 grand a year job to pay for a 50 grand education, or become an apprentice in a trade and work up to 50 or 60 grand, but not have any student debt?

6. Chesafreak

Chesafreak