close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

The East Coast, Sales & Trust

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by M&P15T, Aug 7, 2012.

1. M&P15T

M&P15T Beard One

For you East Coast (NoVa, DC, NYC etc.) dwellers, I have some questions I'd like to ask.

I'm a kitchen designer, and I moved to the NoVa area about 18 months ago. I've been resonably successful, but I'm always looking for fresh ideas and sales techniques. One HUGE difference between selling in this area, and the Midwest, is customer trust issues.

I have been noticing that here in NoVa, when I meet with new perspective clients, I'm starting off within a general atmosphere of distrust. In the Midwest, trust wasn't a major issue to overcome. Selling there meant starting with a normal level of trust between you and the perspective client, and you had to screw up to lose the customer's trust. Here, it is painfully obvious that I have to earn my customer's trust, or buld up a level of trust.

I understand why, as many people that I meet with have impressive and awful tales of getting ripped-off by one type of company or another in the past. So people here have an automatic level of distrust whenever they meet with a sales person such as myself.

My company is A++ with the BBB. It is very Midwest like in how we take care of our customers. But due to the very nature of selling intangibles (which is the hardest type of sales), trust (or lack thereof) is a very important hurdle to overcome. I'm searching for thoughts and ideas on how to establish trust with perspective clients that have been burned themselves, or know others that have.

I obviously discuss our BBB rating (which we safegard with awesome serivce), and explain how we're family owned, how our projects are done with dedicated subs and an awesome, production line like system. But that doesn't seem to be enough to over-come some people's natural distrust.