Tell me your dreams.

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Glockster_221, Jan 1, 2010.

1. Glockster_221

Glockster_221

Hey guys. Allow me to get sentimental for a moment here.

Before I ask you for your hopes and dreams in life, let me tell you mine.

I come from a low-income immigrant family. I have virtually no family here (other than my sister and mother). It's been damn hard for us this last decade and couple years.

Anyhow, I am a student at UC Davis studying philosophy. That's right philosophy. No other field begins to touch philosophy when it comes to honing argumentation and critical thinking skills. Hell, the field of logic was borne out of philosophy, and without that field, nothing else would be intelligible. Philosophy, really, is the foundation for other fields to work (especially if you study really theoretical fields and have the need for clear concepts).

Anyhow, I plan on going to a good graduate school and becoming a professor of Philosophy at a great university, hopefully Ivy League one day. Specifically, I would like to study and teach the philosophy of science and epistemology (study of knowledge) and how they intertwine and what all that means for the modern science age we currently live in. I would also love to write for science journals and whatnot.

If that doesn't pan out, due to the ridiculously hyper-competitive market that philosophers must trek through, then I plan on a career in law enforcement. Keep in mind that I am going to give it my absolute all before I pursue anything else -- I don't like doing anything half ***.

In terms of law enforcement, I was thinking of applying to the following organizations in this order: FBI (either a field agent or a ballistician), state police, local police and work my way to SWAT or GANG unit (in Los Angeles).

I also plan to start a family some day as I think I would be an outstanding father and husband. I am great with kids and have a huge heart.