Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,075 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am a teacher and took a 1 week course this summer at UVA. I was sent a 1099-Misc form for the stipend which kicked me into the self employed category on Turbo Tax. I have claimed the income but wondered if I used our vehicle to do the 250 mile round trip, is it worth the hassle/deduction or would you not mess with it since the vehicle was only used once for this trip.

Never had to do a 1099 before so I am not sure if the deduction is valid since the vehicle was used once for what they are calling "business." Not even sure 246 miles would make a difference on my refund.

·
Registered
1,899 Posts
I am a teacher and took a 1 week course this summer at UVA. I was sent a 1099-Misc form for the stipend which kicked me into the self employed category on Turbo Tax. I have claimed the income but wondered if I used our vehicle to do the 250 mile round trip, is it worth the hassle/deduction or would you not mess with it since the vehicle was only used once for this trip.

Never had to do a 1099 before so I am not sure if the deduction is valid since the vehicle was used once for what they are calling "business." Not even sure 246 miles would make a difference on my refund.
I believe you can do this 1099 Misc another way without a Sched C. C will generate Self employment taxes I believe. Since you do not think the 250 miles will make a difference, I'd keep it simple.

I think the 1099 will go on the front on your 1040 as other income.

But I ain't no tax x-purt

·
Premium Member
2,075 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I believe you can do this 1099 Misc another way without a Sched C. C will generate Self employment taxes I believe. Since you do not think the 250 miles will make a difference, I'd keep it simple.

I think the 1099 will go on the front on your 1040 as other income.

But I ain't no tax x-purt