Sv650

Discussion in 'Moto Club' started by Berto, May 22, 2007.

1. Berto

Berto woo woo

I'm kicking around the idea of getting a bike.
    I have some experience with motorcycles,mostly dirts bikes from years of poker runs and day long excursions with the family when younger.
    In have done some riding with street bikes,but simple short rides with little traffic involved..I would be taking a course should I pull the trigger.;)

I'm looking at a new or like new SV650 (no more than a couple yrs. old,fuel injected);
    I like the idea of a good tractable V twin
    It gets good MPG
    Has good performance..enough for me.
    Sounds to be a relatively reliable,low maintainence machine.

My question concerns mileage and fit.

What is considered 'high mileage' for a bike of this type...what should one expect before overhauling or major parts replacement?

I'm 6'2, 225lbs and long legged, will this bike suck for tallish leggy people like me in terms of fit? (I plan on it being a short range commuter)

Any advice would be great,Thanks.:)

2. D25

D25 The Quick

I would own this bike if I could fit on it. I'm 6'3" and just don't fit on it at all- I'm all knees and elbows coming down the road on it. It may be managable for a short range commuter, but I'd definately give it a whirl before buying one.

3. Berto

Berto woo woo

I've sat on one,but haven't been out on a ride yet. Since it's without a fairing,I just don't forsee extended trips beyond typical back and forth to work.
    Is it possible to make minor changes in fit like adjusting pegs or handlebars?

4. fnfalman

fnfalman Chicks Dig It

Berto,

If you're much over 5'10, you're going to be cramped on most small, sporty bikes.

As far as high mileage goes, I've seen these bikes with excess of 40,000-miles and still going strong. Like everything else mechanical, you take care of it and it will take care of you.