Striker to 'sear' fit? Something isn't right.

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by bczrx, Aug 30, 2015.

1. bczrx

bczrx

I just picked up a lightly used G30SF today. So lightly used there are no barrel wear marks from firing, even though it was bought in 2012.

As I disassembled and inspected it, prior to any range time, I noticed something that made me want to grab my arkansas stones. Before I did, I thought I'd check with the Glock experts though, as I am relatively new to Glocks.

It is evident from the wear marks on the striker's 'foot' and the rear of the cruciform ['sear' edge], that the striker is held by about 1/3 to 1/4 of the sear, on one side of the mating area.

My first instinct is to begin using Dykum Blue to chart wear and start to lightly dress down the face of the cruciform's 'sear' area, until I get 'full engagement'.

What I mean by 'full engagement' is that the wear marks should be uniformly spread across the face of both the striker's foot and the sear.

Does this sound like I am on the right track?

I AM experienced in sear/hammer, or in trigger/hammer [where appropriate] fitting, with successful results on 5 1911s [3 I have built up from frames and parts], 4 BHP, 7 different revolvers, 4 different rifles, 3 Ruger MK II or MK II 22/45s, miscellaneous other handguns and a couple of shotguns. This is a reference to sears I've stoned to change the characteristics. It doesn't include work that required no work on my part on the sear/striker or sear/hammer interface. I've also prepped the surfaces on my AA upper for my G22, and fit other parts. I am not bragging. I am identifying my skill level when I am proposing this solution. No one on here knows me personally, so none of you know what I am aware of, or what I have successfully done in the past. This way you have a better idea of what to suggest to me.