close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Stock Market - Scottrade

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by whitetiger7653, Jan 19, 2010.

1. whitetiger7653

whitetiger7653 NRA Life Member

I'm looking to invest my tax return when it comes. I really could use a supplemental income to help pay bills in these tough times. I was thinking about the stock market but I'm a complete novice. A co-worker recommended Scottrade.

Any advice for me?

*edit* Edit to add, I'm not looking to get rich quick or quit my job. I just need something to help me pay my bills. Yes it would be nice to make enough to pay for school.

Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  2. HKUSP45Css

HKUSP45Css

If it were my money, and I know it's not, I would buy a nice High-cap mutual fund and hold onto it. Buying one stock puts you in the unenviable position of putting all of your eggs in a single basket.

The upshot here is that you're buying it cheap during one of the worst economic periods in recent history. Never, ever forget, when it comes to stocks, you haven't lost anything until you sell it.

3. steve1988

steve1988

I actually had a long discussion with a friend (who has a degree in finance) about this last night. He opined (backed up by several of his professors in school) that the best option for most people is an S&P index fund.

4. janice6

janice6 Silver Member

First of all, I have been with Scottrade for many years.

Second of all, I know nothing of "getting rich quick".

Third, My approach is to buy low.........and wait for the market to get up to speed. I cannot do "daytrading" because, as I said, I know nothing about how to be successful at it (if it is possible).

I am very happy with their services. I have purchased stock in companies I know something about and I have also bought stock in companies that are so low it's ashame.

I watch trends, previous history, and try to realize that I am not special at this.