close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

State by State search of the Classifieds

Discussion in 'Announcements & Support' started by robpiat, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. robpiat

    robpiat

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Roswell,GA
    Is it possible for you to code in a search by state? This would be really helful for a lot of us primarily interested in local trades/sales.
     
  2. robpiat

    robpiat

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Roswell,GA
    BTT...Anybody?
     

  3. DJ Niner

    DJ Niner Moderator

    Messages:
    16,772
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    Location:
    North-Central USA
    The normal search function cannot search for 2-letter terms; it makes the search index impossibly large and uses too much CPU power.

    Many folks do not put the two-letter state abbreviation in the ad title in any case, even though they've been asked many times to do so. I believe Eric (the site's owner) has said that the next major upgrade to the site will probably change the classifieds in such a manner that this will become possible, but for now, it's not.
     
  4. robpiat

    robpiat

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Roswell,GA
    Are you familiar with other sites where the state is part of a users profile rather than part of the ad? This is how ar15.com does their state-by state search.
     
  5. DJ Niner

    DJ Niner Moderator

    Messages:
    16,772
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    Location:
    North-Central USA
    No, I'm not. Interesting.
    Of course, some folks don't want to post their state in their profile, either.

    In any case, I'll mention it to Eric, the site's owner.

    Thanks for the input!