Springfield milspec 1911 opinions?

Discussion in '1911 Forums' started by CZ Glock, May 20, 2020.

1. CZ Glock

CZ Glock

I'm new to 1911s.

1. Do you carry HP with it? Which hp brand works?

2. Reliable enough for home defense? ( I plan on using Wilson Combat mags.)

3. Do you feel comfortable carrying it loaded with one in chamber (considering it's doesn't have a firing pin safety).

Penn'sWoods likes this.
  2. seanmac45

seanmac45 CLM

1. I test all ammo thoroughly prior to carrying it for self defense. Each pistol has its' likes and dislikes. No one can tell you which brand will work in your pistol; it's something you have to test for yourself.

2. It has been reliable enough for me for over thirty years, but again I test weapons and ammo thoroughly prior to carrying.

3. In the aforementioned 30+ years I have always carried cocked and locked with one in the chamber with no unintentional discharges. Safety is in the brain and your proper handling of weapons, not a mechanical device.

3. FireForged

FireForged Millenium #3936 Millennium Member

I do not carry JHP in any 1911.. that's just me. I have a milspec and have been pleased with it. It runs well with Tripp, Novak and Wilson mags.

4. DannyB

DannyB

I've had numerous Colts, a Kimber, and two Springfields. I wouldn't trust the Colts or the Kimber I had at all. Even though the two Springfields I had, including the Mil-Spec, never jammed I still don't trust 1911s. But thats just me.

If you do decide to trust one I would suggest that if you want hollow points to just have one HP in the chamber and ball ammo after that, if you really want it to go bang every time. It is a big enough hole anyway.

dbuck47 and nitesit(+ an e) like this.
  5. retrieverman

retrieverman Registered User