Sport Pilot

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Burncycle, Oct 18, 2005.

1. Burncycle

Burncycle

Has this category been passed and official now?

I'm an air force brat, so I've been interested in flying since I can remember; but given the costs involved for a private pilot licence, I was thinking about dabbling in ultralights. Since I've heard about the sports pilot category though, I've been thinking about going for a sport pilots licence to start with, perhaps as a stepping stone to pursuing a private licence in the future. Does this sound like a good idea? I'm still pretty new at the real deal stuff and I'm doing some research as we speak.

2. IslandHopper

IslandHopper

3. M2 Carbine

M2 Carbine

From what little I've heard about the SP license, the ultralight pilots are going to be able to use certified UL flight time towards a SP license.

SP should be somewhat cheaper to get but it's still probably going to cost quite a bit.

The local PPC instructor was charging $50 an hour and the two place parachutes don't even have dual controls (at least I haven't seen any).
    $50 seemed a little steep to ride around in the back seat and watch the instructor fly.
    Then your first time at the controls was your solo flight.;f

4. MNShooter

MNShooter