Soundcard issue?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by HollowHead, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. HollowHead

    HollowHead Firm member

    Messages:
    27,648
    Likes Received:
    8,739
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Where the buffalo roam
    No sound today on my Dell XPS 420 w/Vista. Mute/volume speaker icon at bottom right corner has dancing green bars as does the driver in "sound" in control panel. Driver status says everything working normally. I did a driver reload from Dell and checked all connections and all is well. Headphone jack is also just hiss. Is the soundcard toast? Thanks, HH
     
  2. robin303

    robin303 Helicopter Nut

    Messages:
    7,762
    Likes Received:
    454
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Have you talked to Dell yet.
     

  3. HollowHead

    HollowHead Firm member

    Messages:
    27,648
    Likes Received:
    8,739
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Where the buffalo roam
    It's out of warranty and I believe they charge for tech calls then. HH
     
  4. havensal

    havensal Getting older every day! CLM

    Messages:
    2,943
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Location:
    Western, NY
    Do an online chat. I have done it with out of warranty PC's before.
     
  5. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Have you tried some different speakers or even headphones?
     
  6. HollowHead

    HollowHead Firm member

    Messages:
    27,648
    Likes Received:
    8,739
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Where the buffalo roam
    Plugged the speakers into my Ipod and they work fine. This happened once before and I fixed it by removing Pandora Radio from it's own tab. It timed itself out and wouldn't let any other application create audio. I've since removed Pandora and its tab. HH
     
  7. HKUSP45Css

    HKUSP45Css

    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, by God, Texas
    Check processes and make sure nothing that sounds intuitively like an audio process isn't started when it shouldn't be.

    Also, you could try, as a last ditch, moving the Audio Card to a different PCI slot if it's discrete.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2010
  8. HollowHead

    HollowHead Firm member

    Messages:
    27,648
    Likes Received:
    8,739
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Where the buffalo roam
    Where do you check "processes" in Vista? HH
     
  9. Detectorist

    Detectorist

    Messages:
    23,335
    Likes Received:
    13,714
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Missouri
    I think he means 'services'. You can look at processes by opening task manager and clicking on the Processes tab.

    You can find 'Services' in Start>Control panel>Administrative tools>Services.

    Another view of Services is Start>msconfig>Services tab.
     
  10. StuntPilot

    StuntPilot

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    HH,

    You can also ask for free help from the Dell Community forums. Here is a link to the laptop audio section:

    http://en.community.dell.com/forums/3517.aspx

    BTW, nice avatar. I saw 'Black Flag' many years ago.


    Stuntpilot
     
  11. GlockerMike

    GlockerMike God Help Us

    Messages:
    12,975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Try Ctl+Shift+Escape for Task Manager, Processes. In XP anyway, maybe same in Vista.
     
  12. HollowHead

    HollowHead Firm member

    Messages:
    27,648
    Likes Received:
    8,739
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Where the buffalo roam
    Finally figured it out. For some reason, my integrated output device keeps switching to optical out and disabling the audio jacks. Any ideas why? Thanks, HH