close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Someone help me or I'll go insane! (electrical work)

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by G31, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. G31

    G31 Millennium Member

    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 1999
    Location:
    NE FL
    I'm trying to follow the 2005 Nat'l Electric Code to do some easy wiring in a walkout basement (required in VA). I want to add outlets and lighting around a 1200 sq. ft. area, so I'm trying to get it right for inspection.

    So far, I am told the following:
    - outlets every 12' on a wall, every 6' from a door or walkthrough, and at least one in a 10'+ hall. Also, need at least one on any wall of 2' or wider
    - wall outlets 15 amp; bathroom 20???
    - all bathroom outlets GFCI, and pretty much anything near water GFCI
    - safe estimate for load rating is 8-10 outlets on a circuit (I have no more than 6 on a circiut)
    - 14/2 AWG minimum for outlets, 12/2 for lights/fans
    - drilling studs for wire must not be more than 40% of width of stud; hole must be 1.25" from drywall or else a nail plate must be put up.

    I am very capable wiring this up by myself and will not call an electrician to do anything but inspect and do the final wiring into the panel. I just want to make sure I don't have to redo anything.

    Can someone tell me if I'm missing anything, or if something is wrong?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  2. 9mm Luger

    9mm Luger GLOCK 26

    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Bathroom needs to be 20A.
    12/2 or 14/2 for receptacles, 12/2 is good for 20A, 14/2 is good for 15A. I would use 12/2 personally.

    14/3 is needed only for three way switches, and fans yes if you want to control the fan and light separately.
     

  3. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Messages:
    27,619
    Likes Received:
    6,337
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    I go 20 amp and 12ga everywhere.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  4. G31

    G31 Millennium Member

    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 1999
    Location:
    NE FL
    hahaha...I'm mental. I guess 12/2 w/ ground, not 12/3. Just got terminology wrong.

    Thanks.
     
  5. md2lgyk

    md2lgyk

    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Location:
    WV
    Bathroom outlet must be within 30 inches (or maybe 36) of the rim of the sink. A bathroom circuit can only serve the bathroom.
     
  6. Obi Wan

    Obi Wan

    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Location:
    'Round the bend...
    As a side note, I have all of my basement outlets split over several GFCI circuits just to be on the safe side due to potential moisture/water leaks.
     
  7. Unlocked

    Unlocked 4 8 15 16 23 42 CLM

    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    Indiana
    This.
     
  8. Marc1956

    Marc1956 CLM #66

    Messages:
    1,832
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    For sure, I'd go .45 ACP or .45 GAP but for heavier service over the long haul, you need to go ahead and go 10mm and get it over with. I'm a perfessional and usually charge for my time, but since this is GT, I'm just sharing the love. :supergrin:
     
  9. Z71bill

    Z71bill

    Messages:
    17,978
    Likes Received:
    5,892
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    Can someone explain why 20 amp breakers?

    My house has both 20 and 15 -

    I always figured it was a trade off -

    Lower 15 amp gives more protection and should be used unless the higher 20 amp is required. 20 amp would be required if you plan on plugging in an item that needs more amps. Say a 10,000 BTU window AC unit or a portable heater.


    So if the load on a breaker will be - just lights - maybe a TV set or PC the 15 amp would be more than enough to carry the load - and give you an extra safety margin.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  10. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Messages:
    27,619
    Likes Received:
    6,337
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    Will a lamp start a fire without tripping a 20 amp breaker?
     
  11. G31

    G31 Millennium Member

    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 1999
    Location:
    NE FL
    One more question...pulled out an old outlet and it has three cables going to it. How many are allowed?
     
  12. Paul_J

    Paul_J

    Messages:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    If you have known loads for each circuit do not exceed 1920va (Amps x Voltage) for a 20 amp breaker, or 1440va for a 15 amp breaker. If it's just general purpose outlets with no known load attached figure 180va for each duplex outlet.

    Were all three wired directly to the device or did it have a "pig tail" going to the device?
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  13. Spankywombat

    Spankywombat

    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    Circuit breakers are there to protect the circuit (wiring), not your appliance. 12 gauge wire will carry 20 amps, so there's no "better protection" by putting a lower rated circuit breaker on it.
     
  14. G31

    G31 Millennium Member

    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 1999
    Location:
    NE FL
    Direct. Don't know who did it. Two on the sides, one through the back. I'll probably pigtail it.
     
  15. Dennis in MA

    Dennis in MA Get off my lawn

    Messages:
    42,700
    Likes Received:
    2,827
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Location:
    Taunton, MA
    I've gotten amped up on a 40 and go everywhere with my 12ga before. The Sheriff don't like it much, tho.
     
  16. 9mm Luger

    9mm Luger GLOCK 26

    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    :rofl:
     
  17. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Messages:
    27,619
    Likes Received:
    6,337
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    They get upset when you carry the 12ga in the same hand as the 40, too. It's easy to sweep folks when you take a swig.
     
  18. Z71bill

    Z71bill

    Messages:
    17,978
    Likes Received:
    5,892
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    Texas

    :dunno: I will say YES - could also happen with a 15 amp -

    Why are there so many electrical related house fires?

    Could be DIY electrician/homeowners - :upeyes:

    So - home builders put in light duty (14/2) wire to save money - and as a result must use 15 amp breaker?
     
  19. larry_minn

    larry_minn Silver Member Millennium Member

    Messages:
    13,017
    Likes Received:
    4,008
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 1999
    Location:
    Minnesota
    What JUMPED at me was this. "14/2 AWG minimum for outlets, 12/2 for lights/fans While it may be true IMO 12/2 is my minimum for outlets (and have used 10/2 in sheds where I KNOW block heaters for tractors,drinker heaters,etc will be used. I also would (THINK) that a light/fan wouldn't NEED 12/2????? To me that would be a exceedingly LITE load????? 100watts max for single light and 400?watts for fan?? Why would you need 12/2?

    Local house here had a (addition) where when new owner bought it was inspected. Well there was no ground. So outlets pulled and the former owner had used 18guage "lamp cord" to wire it. :0 They had to pull drywall. (I guess just to be safe I would have thought they could have pulled it with Chinese cord puller? It was $$$$$$
     
  20. glockski

    glockski

    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    Royal Palm Beach, FL.
    Depends on the size of the box and the size of the wire, plastic boxes usually have it printed on it the number of wires allowed metal boxes you can go to a chart. all the ground wires count as one your device adds a count of 2 wires to the fill. If you have metal boxes get size including the depth and I can tell you the wire fill