close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Some questions from a laptop noob

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Kevin108, Jun 17, 2006.

  1. Kevin108

    Kevin108 THIS IS IN ALL CAPS

    Messages:
    7,036
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    My 3-year-old Dell (I will fix it, I just didn't feel like fooling with it last week.) started acting up so I decided to buy a budget laptop for watching DVDs, carrying around the ability to burn CDs, and for public WiFi. I wound up with a HP Pavilion dv4405nr. Nothing spectacular about it except the screen. The color on the widescreen is absolutely beautiful.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=7824615&type=product&id=1142296199736

    [​IMG]

    I play Guild Wars once in a while and that's about the heaviest load I put on it. I'm just wondering if it would be worth it to add some RAM or anything else to this system to help it out some.

    I've been building desktops since Pentium 1s were new so I'm totally comfortable in the guts of a computer. I just don't know really anything about laptop hardware. Fill me in! :cool:
     
  2. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi
    According to the specs, you can add up to 2GB of RAM to this laptop. As a general rule, I say that 512MB is the minimum for XP and I recommend getting 1GB of RAM for comfort. If you have to sticks of 256, you’ll have to buy 2 sticks of 512MB in order to upgrade to 1GB. If you only have 1 stick of 512, you’ll only need to add another stick of 512 to get a gig.
     

  3. Kevin108

    Kevin108 THIS IS IN ALL CAPS

    Messages:
    7,036
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I popped the plate off the bottom and of course, it is 2 sticks of 256. Does this generation of memory have to be run in pairs? I was really thinking more RAM would help it out, especially with the video card being a shared memory setup.
     
  4. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi
  5. Kevin108

    Kevin108 THIS IS IN ALL CAPS

    Messages:
    7,036
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I guess I can pull one of the 256s out to see if it will still work on just 1 and go from there.
     
  6. Tacnaidayu

    Tacnaidayu

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    The memory is DDR (not DDR2). I don't think Celerons run in dual channel. Here are the specs according to HP: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...49101&jumpid=reg_R1002_USEN&docname=c00656956
     
  7. HAVOC

    HAVOC Remember CLM Millennium Member

    Messages:
    5,054
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 1999
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    It's an i915GM northbridge. Those are all dual-channel. I suppose HP could have wired it single channel, but I doubt it. The 915 seems pretty nonplussed about unmatched sticks even in dual-channel mode. It's not a good practice, but I've never seen it cause problems.
     
  8. Kevin108

    Kevin108 THIS IS IN ALL CAPS

    Messages:
    7,036
    Likes Received:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA