close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Some MA questions: ChiefWPD?

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by MASIG, Feb 1, 2010.

1. MASIG

MASIG

I am a MA resident with an unrestricted Class A LTC. I originally moved to MA from another, much more gun friendly, state and brought my weapons with me. I have not bought a gun in MA yet.

'm currently out of state for a few months and would like to buy a Remington 870 Model 81180 W/ Knoxx SpecOps Stock. This is a 20 ga 870 model (pump) with 7 round mag capacity and a Knoxx recoil-absorbing, adjustable length, pistol grip-type stock.

I believe that this is a legal gun in MA (at least with my Class A LTC). I'd like to confirm that it it legal. Secondly, I suppose the state of MA will want me to somehow register this weapon. I believe I have seven days to file the paperwork after acquiring the shotgun. Is that correct? Does it matter that both I and the gun will not enter MA for a number of months -- i.e., will the kind folks running the MA bureaucracy allow me to defer registration until I actually return to MA? Finally, is there any legal way to avoid registration?

Thanks.

2. jayfarm

jayfarm Grumpy Gun Nut

Welcome to MA.

The gun itself is legal since it's a pump gun it doesn't count as large capacity or "assault weapon" so you can also have the pistol grip and adjustable stock. You don't have to "register" the gun, but transactions are recorded in this state. There are times when you need to file an FA-10, and times you don't but a lot depends on the specific details of your situation.

I'd suggest you contact GOAL to ask specific questions about your situation. If you're not a member it's worth joining, they are the only thing standing between us and more ridiculous laws.

3. lens

lens

jayfarm answered your first question. I'll answer your second question.