Solving the Glock Trigger - Pictures

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by JTknives, Apr 4, 2010.

1. JTknives

JTknives

So I have been studying my trigger bar and trying to see what i could do to smooth out the pull. I am a machinist at a machine shop so i really like to dig into things and analyze them. So i stripped down the glock 20 and started looking at everything and i noticed a few things that i believe would improve the trigger greatly. I guess these two things really are one thing over all but thy would require 2 mods to fix. To better describe the problem i made an animated gif. Its made from some pictures i took looking down the magwell. The first thing you notice is that the trigger bar is not centered on the plunger, its not even close. This causes the trigger bar to receive a lot of side loading on it causing it to be forced to the side. Glock did add something to help this problem but i don't think its enough. On the little tab that pushes down the plunger you will notice that there is a little raised bump on the side. This is to keep the trigger bar from moving to far off the plunger. but if you watch the animation below you will see that the trigger bar is getting pinched between the plunger and the slide. The slide is not polished or even have the edge in that area softened. I noticed this because i was looking at the trigger bar and noticed that there was marks on the little round bump and so i reassembled the gun and took a look to see what was going on. This Is causing a multiple folded problem. The trigger bar is rubbing on the sharp edge of the slide. next the trigger bar is being pushed against the side of the frame and rubbing against the plastic. and also this side force is putting a side load onto the trigger as it is not a tight fit in the frame. you will notice that the trigger does have some side to side movement which allows the trigger bar to shift to the side as much as it does. There are a few things i can see that would he