close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

So I've been talking to an Army recruiter (3 actually)

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Andy W, Feb 10, 2010.

1. Andy W

Andy W

Okay, so I am now 20 years old and will have 50 college credits by the end of this semester. I have been attending college for about 2 years now and just haven't quite been able to figure out what I want to do with my life. I have been tossing around the idea of joining the military for quite a while. Some of you may remember my past military threads. They had a career fair on campus a few weeks ago and they had recruiters from all branches of the military there. So I stopped and talked to the Army recruiters for a few minutes. One of the recruiters then set me up an appointment with him the following evening.

At the meeting, the recruiter (a different one actually) asked me all the basic questions (Why are you interested in joining the Army? Do you have any convictions, medical conditions, etc that I need to know about? Do you have any tattoos,etc.) Then he gave me the opportunity to take a practice ASVAB test, on which I received a 68. Then he scheduled me to take the ASVAB for real. I took that last week and received an AFQT of 85 and a score of 117 GT. I don't remember the other sub-scores. It looks like, based on my score, I could qualify for pretty much any job I wanted in the Army.

However, I still have to go to MEPS and take the physical, which I'm told is about as fun as running your fingernails across a chalkboard. I'm told I can do this without a commitment. Is that true?

I'm still not sure if I want to enlist at this point. What do you think?

2. DScottHewitt

DScottHewitt EMT-B

So, you have two years of college left? Have you looked into if you want to do the enlisted track or the officer track? IF you definitely want to be an officer, finish college.