Snowflake comments I have heard tending bar.

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by clancy, Jun 12, 2020.

1. clancy

clancy Oh, for a muse of fire

A lot of you guys know I have been tending bar for quite a few years. While I have decided to not go back to tending once the bar is allowed to open, I got to hear all sorts of absurd comments regarding racism from various customers. Here are a few of the more memorable ones.

A Negroni is a drink made with equal parts gin, sweet vermouth and Campari, garnished with an orange peel. One night the bartender I worked with, as woke a progressive snowflake as ever existed, was asked to make one. She exploded, called the customer a racist(she is white, by the way) and demanded I throw him out. The guy is a regular, a good tipper, a really good guy, and we never, ever had a problem with him. When I asked him for his side of the story he told me he didn't know what her problem was, all he did was ask for a Negroni. I pulled Little Miss Snowflake aside and tried to explain to her what a Negroni was. She wanted no part of it, and said she would never serve anyone who would order a drink that sounded like the "N" word. I sent her home and she was let go the next day.

Did you guys know that drinking bourbon is affirming racism? Neither did I, till one night when several "woke" customers demanded I remove all bourbon from the shelf or they would leave. It seems that because bourbon was first made when slavery was legal in the US, and comes from Kentucky, anyone who drinks it is supporting racism, and any bar that carries it is doing the same. For those who might wonder what happened, they left.

Rum, same as bourbon. Rum was distilled in the West Indies, and was first made with sugar cane cut by slaves. That moron left the bar, too.