Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by certifiedfunds, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. certifiedfunds

    certifiedfunds Cosmopolitan Bias

    Messages:
    62,270
    Likes Received:
    15,928
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    10.6

    Has my MBP pitching fits. Hanging randomly. 4 calls into Apple support and no joy.:steamed:

    Running a couple of extra backups and then wiping the HDD and downgrading to 10.5

    Anyone else?
     
  2. GAFinch

    GAFinch

    Messages:
    5,949
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Georgia
    First, open the Utility Folder and Disk Utility and run Repair Permissions (not Verify).

    Restart and see how it is, if the same, boot off the OS CD and after the installer window appears, go under the Installer Menu at top to Disk Utility and run Repair Disk and if it finds any errors and fixes, run it again.

    ETA: If you have to re-install the OS, I don't see any reason to downgrade it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010

  3. certifiedfunds

    certifiedfunds Cosmopolitan Bias

    Messages:
    62,270
    Likes Received:
    15,928
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Did that.

    Also 2 installs of 10.6, with updates.

    I can't find a solution. Was going back to 10.5 b/c it didn't have the issues on my machine.
     
  4. GAFinch

    GAFinch

    Messages:
    5,949
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Georgia
    You sure it's not your hard drive going bad? It happens a lot with laptops.
     
  5. Cole125

    Cole125 Silver Member

    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Far West, USA
    I am glad I didn't upgrade. I am not about to pay money when the OS I have works just fine.
     
  6. G33

    G33 Frisky! CLM Millennium Member

    Messages:
    30,988
    Likes Received:
    7,612
    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Location:
    With G29
    Darn...thought this would be about a nice fur coat.
    :supergrin::supergrin:
     
  7. GAFinch

    GAFinch

    Messages:
    5,949
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Georgia
    Based on experience, if the computer's a few years old, it's almost definitely your hard drive. It will eventually start making grinding noises or hanging up more and more frequently. Back up your data while you still can. If it locks up while you're backing up and it does it at the same spot twice, that's another sign. It's gonna be about $500 to replace that hard drive, so be thinking about buying a new laptop.

    I really don't think downgrading will work, but it won't hurt anything to try it. I haven't seen a system upgrade disable a Mac in 10 years since the early OS X came out and had trouble with the older Macs.
     
  8. certifiedfunds

    certifiedfunds Cosmopolitan Bias

    Messages:
    62,270
    Likes Received:
    15,928
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Not saying it definitely isn't, but it was replaced about 60 days ago.....by Apple, under warranty after my kid dropped the machine on the floor.

    There are some reports of this on the discussion boards, but no answers from anyone at Apple.

    Also cleared out cache and reset pRAM

    Again, 10.5 gave me no issues. 10.6 in the last 24 hours is giving me fits.....especially Mail and it gets all gnarly when mobileme syncs.
     
  9. .264 magnum

    .264 magnum CLM

    Messages:
    13,749
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Why would the HDD be $500. BTW - I agree that the HDD is likely dying.
     
  10. jake9

    jake9

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Tucson
    Agree with the above replies. Also, I noticed that 10.6 requires a lot more RAM than 10.5.

    Check the Apple boards. There are lots of good people and tons of info there.
     
  11. .264 magnum

    .264 magnum CLM

    Messages:
    13,749
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Bro I know you're careful and all but get comfy with your back-up situation and get busy.

    Here are my thoughts in descending order..........
    1. HDD
    2. RAM going bonkers
    3. The rest are really bad
     
  12. certifiedfunds

    certifiedfunds Cosmopolitan Bias

    Messages:
    62,270
    Likes Received:
    15,928
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    laptop just crossed the 3 yr mark. I realize that Apple may very well have put a reconditioned or other HDD in here when they warranty replaced it.

    New MBP isn't gonna break my heart, but I'd rather it on my terms where I can hand this one off to the 4 year old daughter to be coated with lollipop juice and cheerio crumbs

    After I'm cool with my backups I AM gonna load 10.5 back on just to see......
     
  13. .264 magnum

    .264 magnum CLM

    Messages:
    13,749
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    PM sent BTW

    Hell-yea. Keep that thing going for your kiddo.

    jake9 is right, apparently 10.6 does need more RAM to run well than 10.5.


    ETA - Motorola or Intel chip? Probably Motorola, I wonder if 10.6 poses issues for MR chips?
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2010
  14. certifiedfunds

    certifiedfunds Cosmopolitan Bias

    Messages:
    62,270
    Likes Received:
    15,928
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    I only have 2GB (two 1 GB chips I believe). Was planning to pick up a 2GB chip tomorrow for a total of 3GB. Weird tho' as the system req's for 10.6 call for only 1GB. Like I told tech support, I'm 100% over the SR.
     
  15. certifiedfunds

    certifiedfunds Cosmopolitan Bias

    Messages:
    62,270
    Likes Received:
    15,928
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Dunno. Will check when backups are done.
     
  16. .264 magnum

    .264 magnum CLM

    Messages:
    13,749
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    I know what they say.......but if you look at the system monitor thing like I do with my MB running the latest and greatest OS I"m pushing 2 gigs RAM in use all the time - actually it sort-of flutters up and down from 1.8-2.2. Open and use iPhoto and it's 2.2 all the time.
     
  17. certifiedfunds

    certifiedfunds Cosmopolitan Bias

    Messages:
    62,270
    Likes Received:
    15,928
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    I'm using 1.5GB now

    It's acting like a memory thing. Will hang for a bit (10-20 sec) and then all is fine.
     
  18. .264 magnum

    .264 magnum CLM

    Messages:
    13,749
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Yea. That really does sound like memory. I've heard that dying HDD can cause the same issues though.
     
  19. cgjane

    cgjane

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    I recently upgraded and no problems...
     
  20. certifiedfunds

    certifiedfunds Cosmopolitan Bias

    Messages:
    62,270
    Likes Received:
    15,928
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Just RUUUUUUBBBB it in. :tongueout: