close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Smoothwall Firewall

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by BrowningBDA, Feb 25, 2006.

  1. BrowningBDA

    BrowningBDA

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    New York, New York
  2. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    I do.

    What do you want to know?

    You DO know that it isn't for Windows, correct? I run mine on a honeypot/firewall box that feeds the Web to my local network.
     

  3. grantglock

    grantglock /dev/null

    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    Iowa
    I use IP cop, its almost the same thing.
     
  4. mfackler

    mfackler

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Location:
    Van Wert, Ohio, USA
    +1 on IPCop at home and at work.
     
  5. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Smoothwall is suppose to be easiest to use but I can't tell much difference in ease of use compared with IP Cop.IP Cop is more up to date and has updated hardware drivers.With Smoothwall updates can be downloaded but the original install CD is not as updated as IP Cop's install CD.Unless there is something I'm missing in Smoothwall I think the latest version of IP Cop would be best.
     
  6. greenlead

    greenlead

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Location:
    NE Indiana
    I have not used Smoothwall, but I have configured two IPCop boxes so far and am very pleased with it.

    Add the Cop+ (DansGuardian content filtering) add-on, and things are very sweet indeed.
     
  7. twinglock4d

    twinglock4d

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    I tried to congifure a smoothwall box and it killed me, had 2 identical cards in there and it only saw one.
     
  8. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    TG, that's usually caused by a BIOS issue.

    Try setting the 'Plug N Play OS?' switch to NO and see if that helps, should you see that again.