close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Smoking a Boston butt....

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by meathead19, Jun 18, 2012.

1. meathead19

meathead19

bone in this weekend, small one.....6-7 lbs. as it's my first try and don't want to mess it up along with wasting $.

I have some small Persimmion and Cherry pieces drying on the porch in the sun, as they're recently cut, but have plenty of dried Hickory. It's suppose to be hot and dry for several days, so I'm hoping they'll dry enough.....

If the Persimmon and Cherry are still a bit "green", should I just stick with the Hickory? Pic is cherry on bottom, per on top.

Thanks.

Pig was enjoyed by all.

Smoked till 140 IT and then put on weber gas indirect heat for the remainder.

took right at 9 hrs overall grill time, but very rewarding. Here's some pics.....:wavey:

Last edited: Jun 24, 2012
  2. MtBaldy

MtBaldy Obie Wan, RIP

I'd stick with the hickory anyway though the cherry might be good. Not sure about the persimmon. Boston butts take a long time (12-14 hours if you do them right) and you can over smoke them. Are you cooking with charcoal and flavoring with wood are doing it all with wood. When I did them in my Bar-B-Chef offset smoker I would use hickory chunks with the charcoal for about the first 4 hours and then finish with straight charcoal. I would also put them in foil for the last couple or few hours if the bark looked like it was going to burn. Boston butts are probably the most forgiving BBQ meat so if you keep your temp around 225-250 you should turn out something good to eat. Cook it to an internal temp of 195 and then take it off and let it sit, wrapped in foil, on the counter for an hour or so until it's cool enough to pull or chop.

3. GLOCK17DB9

GLOCK17DB9

what time should we be there for dinner?:supergrin:I love a good smoked butt!:wow:

4. ozark-tracker

ozark-tracker