Sig P6, Range Report.

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by thegriz18, Jan 4, 2010.

1. thegriz18

thegriz18 Paper Killer

I picked up my P6 this morning and was able to head out to the range this afternoon to shoot 100 WWB 115grain FMJs. My impression when I got it out of the box was the same as in the store, this is a solid pistol. The finish is in better condition than I remember. I'm not an expert on P6 quality, but I would say it is in very good to excellent condition. I was lucky enough to get the original box that the pistol came in. The old sticker on the side has the serial number of the pistol on it, as well as handwritten names of the officers it was issued to. I thought that was kind of neat, a little history with the pistol. Overall, the pistol is in excellent condition.

I was lucky that I got the original box, but was even more lucky that it included an extra magazine. Both magazines look almost brand new and the springs are very, very strong. All of the controls on this pistol operate smoothly and without any lag or weakness. The trigger, albeit a bit heavy in DA mode is smooth and breaks cleanly. The SA mode is very crisp with a slight bit of take up.

At the range it ran through 100 rounds of WWB 115 grain FMJ's without any problems. The only problem was my thumb riding the slide lock and preventing it from locking open on the last shot. I know this is my grip because my Glocks do the same thing. I went through about 75 rounds to get the hang-of the trigger. I haven't shot much DA/SA, but I found this pistol easy to shoot after a little practice.

I decided to see what this pistol was capable of so I shot 16 rounds in SA mode into the center of my silhouette target at 7 yards. I then shot the top and bottom 8/9 rings, 8 rounds each, in DA mode at 7 yards. I found the DA to SA transition easy to pick up and was capable of shooting double taps and hammers within an inch or two of each other.