Glock Talk banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Registered
1,391 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
7 Years ago I had surgery on my right shoulder to repair a fully torn rotator cuff, torn labrum and resection of the biceps tendon. The surgery was pretty successful, but it was never quite right. About 6 months ago I started having increased pain and reduced range of motion in the shoulder. Two months ago it got significantly worse. Right now drawing my firearm (G19.5) from an IWB holster isn't easy, fairly painful.

Had an MRI 3 weeks ago. Shows full tears to the labrum and the supscapularis tendon amongst other problems. My Ortho doc who did the original surgery said that shoulder joint replacement may be needed, but that was before the MRI. I have a follow up with him on 4/3.

Spoke with the physical therapist I've been using for the past 8 years or so. He looked at the MRI report and went over it with me in laymen terms. Basically I've got a really screwed up shoulder. He went over the process for the shoulder replacement, and told me I'd loose significant of range of motion.

SO my question for the GT collective is this. Has anyone here had shoulder replacement, and what were the results, and did it affect your ability to carry and potentially employ a firearm in an emergency situation?

Thanks in advance.

· Registered
15,989 Posts
One of my Brother in Law had one replaced just after Christmas. Went very well, I was surprised because nothing ever goes to plan for him. He has finished PT and has pretty good range of motion, compared to before. Still working on building strength but he is pretty happy, for once..

· Registered
8,013 Posts
One of the reasons I carry appendix. Reaching to 4 o clock isn’t what it used to be.