close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Shoulder Carry question

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by heavyweight_4u, Feb 20, 2010.

1. heavyweight_4u

heavyweight_4u

Im new to CCW and about to purchase a shoulder rig. Im looking at a Galco Miami Classic, my question is im a big guy and wondered if anyone knew how adjustable they were. Ive looked at my local shops but they dont have one for me to try on to see. I have a 58" chest for comparision. Any info would be helpful. Thanks

2. Poppa Bear

Poppa Bear Protective G'pa CLM

They are very adjustable. The key question here is WHY are you looking to get a shoulder holster?

IF you spend most of your day sitting in a vehicle, it can be good.

IF you spend a lot of time in the bathroom, it can be good.

IF you want one because you think it is the best (The professional) way to carry, DON'T get one. Many people will get one just for the COOL factor and quickly stop wearing it because it is not very concealable unless you spend all day in custom cut jackets, or winter jackets.

I only wear mine if I will be spending all day driving, AND will be wearing a jacket ALL day. Otherwise I carry using a Milt Sparks VM-2 or a Galco Concealable holster.

3. Al Czervik

Al Czervik

They have quite a range of adjustment.
    Years ago, I bought one for winter carry, more or less as a novelty because I can't stand IWB/OWB. It did not work for me at all.
    I don't know anyone that carries in a shoulder holster. YMMV.

4. heavyweight_4u

heavyweight_4u

I do alot of driving, roughly 3-5 hours per day. I also have a Galco IWB but its not very comfy while driving so its one reason for looking at a shoulder rig.

5. Just1More

Just1More

I wouldn't carry a gun in a holster that points it at someone. A shoulder rig breaks one of the golden rules of gun safety. They should be outlawed in my opinion.

6. rahrah12

rahrah12