close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Should I buy a Glock 22 RTF2 .40 S&W?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by X-man, Jul 28, 2012.

Tags:
  1. X-man

X-man

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the whole Glock thing, but have been shooting since I was five years old (just hit the big 40 last week:crying:) so I'm by no means a newbie.

However, I finally bit the bullet again and bought a Gen 4 Glock 17, which has grown on me. I'm a dyed-in-the-wool 1911 fan and have avoided all polymer pistols for years, but a friend finally convinced me to give 'em a second chance after my first experience with the original generation G17 failed to impress me back in the late 80s.

I'm writing from Canada, so our prices are typically $100-$200 more than US prices despite the fact that our dollars have been essentially at par for the past 3-4 years.:steamed:

Anyhow, I just stumbled across a new (NIB) Glock 22 RTF2 in .40S&W at my local shop that is listed for sale a good $150 bucks off standard pricing for current late model Gen 3 & Gen 4 Glock 22s. It is the fixed sight model.

As a newcomer to the Glock collecting world, what is it about the G22 RTF2 that makes it less desireable? Given the price, should I scoop it up before someone beats me to it? :dunno:

2. Tap Tap

Tap Tap

I would stay far away from it. Your nancy hands might start bleeding. Buy a $3000 1911 instead, pronto.

3. X-man

X-man

Just wondering are you deliberately trying to be a dick or did you forget an emoticon?:headscratch:

4. kodiakpb

kodiakpb

I'd pick it up. I'm a fan of the texture.

5. X-man

X-man

I'm seriously thinking about it. The rear slide serrations are the "gill" style, instead of the straight up/down configuration. Are the RTF2 models with the "gill" serrations more or less common? Thanks for the reply, BTW. :)

6. kodiakpb

kodiakpb