Glock Talk banner

Shotgun Shell "Low Brass" Question

2678 Views 7 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  tjpet
I've heard the term "LOW BRASS" refering to some types of shotgun shells and was wondering what exactly does this mean? I have never seen it listed on a box of shotgun shells so...:dunno: what is it? Can you tell "LOW BRASS" shells when you see them?

Thanks

Mick:thumbsup:
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
638 Posts
Ah, I'm no expert but I can tell you what I have been told over the years.

The first shot shells were brass... they started using paper/brass combination not long after with the low brass. The paper would burn so the manufacturers made higher brass to cover the shell up to the height of the black powder... hence the more powerful charge was high brass.

This became a kind of standard that high brass shells were more powerful even after the change to smokless powder and is used more for marketing identification than anything else.

Modern shells can be low brass, high brass, all brass or no brass (all plastic) and still be safe.

See here.

http://www.rbs0.com/shotshell.htm

· Grumpy Old Guy
11,765 Posts
The metallic part the holds the primer will be either short or long (low/high) brass. Now a days they may be aluminum. Usually low brass is for lower powered shell and high brass for the more powerful shells.

· Adirondacker with a Glock
2,830 Posts
I've heard the term "LOW BRASS" refering to some types of shotgun shells and was wondering what exactly does this mean? I have never seen it listed on a box of shotgun shells so...:dunno: what is it? Can you tell "LOW BRASS" shells when you see them?

Thanks

Mick:thumbsup:
My father-in-law had a "Sweet Sixteen" -16 ga Browning Semiautomatic. He would never use anything but what he called "hi brass" in it. Low brass was not powerful enough to eject the shell, and the shotgun would jam.