close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Shotgun or .22

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by Dan0076, Oct 11, 2004.

1. Dan0076

Dan0076 Special Member

I'm new to hunting and plan on tagging along with some friends to go deer hunting this season. This past weekend I sat through my first hunter education class. Very informative and not as bad as I thought it would be.

But now I want to make sure my son has the chance to get into hunting and I want to take him squirrel hunting. What is firearm would be best for this situation. Firearm would be used for plinking/target shooting during off season. Would a good .22 rifle be best or a shotgun (gage?)

Thank for you help.

2. noway

noway

both are adequate

22 pros
    low cost ammo or much loooooower than any shotshell
    low cost rifle
    no recoil or pretty much 0 in the recoil
    adequate for small-to-smallermedium size game only (IMHO)
    most 22 have alot of accessories

22 cons
    limited in the type and size of ammo to take
    ammo choice don't lead to great penetration on thick animals

shotgun pros

multiple shot makes it easier to take game at a respected range
    versitale same shotgun can do multiple functions ( dove/squirrel/deer/duck/etc.....)
    simple in design & easy to work on
    most common shotguns have a wide assortment of accessories

shotgun cons
    heavy recoil
    ammo is very pricey
    guns in pumps can weigh alot vrs a small 22 rifle

So get what you want & think you need. Only you can MAKE that choice. Both can bring alot of knowledge and makes fine weapons to learn on. If you plan on taking deer and to buy that one gun only, get the shotgun now. If you live in a shotgun only deer state/county then you would already have the gun to use. if you are not restricted in using a shotgun , then see the deer caliber thread below for suitable rilfes calibers for taking deer.

good luck in your decision.

3. ETG31

ETG31