close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Shooting HIGH with my 19

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by maestrogustav, Jul 23, 2012.

1. maestrogustav

maestrogustav

I am new to Glocks, but I dove in head first and bought a 17 and 19.

With the 19, I shoot high; carefully aligning the tops of the front and rear sights, I hit nearly 2 inches high at 7 yards.

Is this technique? I have no prob with the 17.

2. Dexters

Dexters

3. ithaca_deerslayer

ithaca_deerslayer

4. robhic

robhic WOLVERINE!!!! Platinum Member Silver Member

Possibly a breathing problem? Do you sometimes shoot low but still on a center line? Just a thought.

5. IllinoisGun

IllinoisGun

I smoke after I shoot my G19. (sorry, I couldn't resist)

6. Two Guns

Two Guns VIP MEMBER

I would say it is the factory Glock sights. They print high for alot of people. If I was you, I would get a set of after market sights like Meprolites.

7. Kimura

Kimura

Are your groups tight? Have you shot the gun at 15 yards and 25 yards? If yes, did the gun shoot progressively higher? Have you let someone else shoot the gun at those distances? If yes, do they also shoot high with it?

Have you tried different ammo? No gun likes every type of ammo? Some are more finicky than others. You might solve the problem by changing ammo.

Your last choice if the guns shoots high at all distances is a taller front sight and or an adjustable rear sight. Good luck with this as I've seen a lot of shooters go through a lot of sights before settling and if you take a look at the Tigerswan Glock, it has an adjustable rear sight on it. Likewise, Pat McNamara runs an adjustable rear. There are reasons for this.

8. Frank V

Frank V

Congratulations on choosing Glocks. I think you will like them.

I'd suggest shooting off a bench from sandbags to eliminate some of the human error. That should show where your gun is shooting. Don't rely on one group, shoot several.