close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Security Guard Badge

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by KenBGlock19, Feb 28, 2010.

1. KenBGlock19

KenBGlock19 SEMPER PARATUS

As an LEO, what are you opinons on Security Officers carrying badges on- and off-duty? I'm fully aware of the "rent-a-cop" stuff, but what is your professional opinion? Just curious. When I was interviewing (while unemployed) months ago for security jobs as a last-ditch effort, I noticed that a lot of them had them.

Do they aid in IDing during a situation or something?

2. sargespd

sargespd

I would think that most security companies, or companies that have in house security, would seriously frown on their employees IDing themselves in an off the clock situation. There is no "authority" involved on the part of the security person when not working. 25 years ago, I was a seasonal security officer at a large amusement park. We were specifically prohibited from taking our badges home. There was one employee who did so, and made the mistake of using a dash mounted red flashing light in his car to stop someone he felt had committed a traffic violation. He ended up criminally charged with impersonating a police officer. Unless I find a better gig real soon, I will be working at the same park this summer, again as a seasonal employee, but this time as a Park Police officer. Still, this is a "private police" position, much like private security. We have full arrest and enforcement authority on the premises, but none at all off grounds. Park police officers are not permitted to take the issued pistols home. I am fortunate that I also have an unpaid, auxiliary police position that keeps me armed and badged the rest of the time.

3. Jene

Jene Millennium Member