Security bars for doors.

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Turtle13, Feb 6, 2010.

1. Turtle13

Turtle13 Ni!

Anyone have any suggestions as to where and what one to buy? I'm looking at getting one for the back and front doors so they're a little more secure at night. I've looked at a lot of them but I have no experience with them so I don't know the pros and cons.

2. ClydeG19

ClydeG19

It's probably time to move.

3. trifecta

trifecta

If it's for a residence, make sure they still open easily from the inside. It would suck to die in a fire.

4. Turtle13

Turtle13 Ni!

Most of us here own guns for defense. Does that mean it's time to move? Maybe we should just let criminals run us to the corners of Alaska. They can have the rest of the US right? I've seen enough happen here in Flint and read enough things happening as "isolated incidents" to know that these are security measures I'll take for the rest of my life regardless of where I live.

Thanks for a useless response.

I swear to God it's a wonder I even post my own threads. Actually it's a wonder I'm even still on this website. There's only a handful of people here that are actually insightful, the rest post responses like yours.

5. Turtle13

Turtle13 Ni!

Yes, it's for a residence. I've never used one so I don't know how they're released.

6. AK_Stick

AK_Stick AAAMAD

Northern Tool, or pretty much any hardware store should have them.

I would look into something like door jamb armor before I bought a security bar.

7. cowboywannabe

cowboywannabe you savvy?

another option is installing the steel plates on the door and door frame (with long screws) so kicking the door open isnt going to happen or not very well anyway. this wont impede emergency escape from a fire, requires no additional securing for the night on your part.....the next step after reshoring the door is an alarm system.

8. Turtle13

Turtle13 Ni!