Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
860 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Awhile back I sold my only rifle in .270 Win to fund some other project. That rifle was a Mannlicher Schoenauer 1952 that beat the snot out of my cheek each time I shot it with open sights. Not fun. So I found myself with reloading dies and components but no rifle in the chambering. One day at the local Wally World they had an Axis in .270 for $250 and there was a $30 rebate running as well. It went home with me and so far I’m impressed with it. Accurate and seemingly reliable so far. It is amazing how much rifle you can get today for so little $$$$. Is it perfect? No. But it is one hell of a deal for the money! Wish they made them back in the 70’s when I had to settle with a bolt action 20ga chucking foster slugs for deer.

My casual review:

View: https://youtu.be/cZ0OeH02Axk

·
Registered
5,136 Posts
I’m no rifle expert. So I’m not too picky.

The accuracy on my .223 model is great. The bolt was a little “sticky” at first but it’s very smooth now. Don’t get to shoot it too often but it’s a fun gun to shoot!

·
Registered
5,444 Posts
I have an Axis in 223 and I agree it's a great rifle for the money. I like the Ruger American a little better but it's also a $100 more.

·
M62/76
12,529 Posts
Savage builds a great rifle...and awhile I can’t speak for the Axis, their Model 110 and 12 years are arguably some of the most accurate out of the box rifles on the market these days.

·
Registered
16,901 Posts
Have 3 Savages, a Scout in .308, a 92 in 17 HMR, and the wife's 92 in .22LR. They all punch far outside their price, especially the 17 HMR. For a 200 dollar rifle with a 50 dollar scope, is a laser beam out to 200 yards.

I really want a Model 10, in .308, already have the Nikon scope for it sitting in the box, bought 3 years ago. 4x by 12x, 40 mm front focus reticle. However, have to be practical about the money.

·
Registered
16,901 Posts