Glock Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
467 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is a safe interior I put together for a great good friend.
Fully assembled it will hold 91 handguns in individual compartments.
It is amazing what you can do in LibreCAD, free software, and with a table saw.

· Registered
467 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Very nice. Is he storing pistols in there? If so, I'd like to see a picture of it when it is full.
Please tell us about your process.
This is a Winchester Big Daddy safe. the shelves are 38 inches long and 14 inches deep. Each cubby is 2 1/2 inches wide and 5 3/4 inches tall. It took about 4 hours on LibreCAD, I'm a beginner, and about 5 hours at the table saw, where I have some experience. Material is 3/4 inch plywood shelves and 1/4 inch plywood dividers.

· Banned
42,095 Posts
This is a Winchester Big Daddy safe. the shelves are 38 inches long and 14 inches deep. Each cubby is 2 1/2 inches wide and 5 3/4 inches tall. It took about 4 hours on LibreCAD, I'm a beginner, and about 5 hours at the table saw, where I have some experience. Material is 3/4 inch plywood shelves and 1/4 inch plywood dividers.
I have the smaller version of the same safe. Unfortunately I'm lazy.

· Registered
1,363 Posts
Nice. I like how it's modular. I'd probably put felt on the bottom of each cube to keep the guns from getting dinged up. Might sound easier to say it than to cut 91 rectangles from felt...

· Registered
467 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Nice. I like how it's modular. I'd probably put felt on the bottom of each cube to keep the guns from getting dinged up. Might sound easier to say it than to cut 91 rectangles from felt...
You don't cut 91 separate pieces of felt. You cover the entire shelf with felt and then cut the felt from the grooves. before you put it in the safe.

· Premium Member
5,929 Posts