close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Rule for extra shots

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by glockess56, Aug 9, 2011.

1. glockess56

glockess56 CLM

I've been shooting GSSF outdoor matches since 2004, so it's not my first rodeo. I've never seen, heard or experienced this situation until the Brighton, MI match. I know by the rules that we can load one in the pipe and then 10 (not talking about major sub). I do this and have some left over if I haven't missed too many plates!. I was pasting at a stage when someone had more than six on the target. The person was argueing that more could be on the target but the six highest would be counted. I never knew this was a rule, but I've never had to experience this rule either, so I didn't have a reason in the past to look it up. I know in some other shooting disciplines, if more than the required number of shots are on a target, the ROs start with the least and go forward to the highest scoring ring. Has anyone ever been familiar with any of this in a GSSF competition? Is there a rule? Any information is greatly appreciated and thanks. I think if you're shooting extra, the timer will pick that up and you'll have a higher time.

Last edited: Aug 9, 2011
  2. CUTigers2002

CUTigers2002

where an extra shot was not pasted, by accident, from a previous shooter. In this case, the RO took the 6 best shots for my score (which I think was accurate because the extra shot was a low D, the only D on my target).

I thought if you took extra shots on cardboard, it was a 10 second penalty....certainly not worth it if you think you missed a target....

3. ede

ede Bama's Friend

the timer would have the total shots fired plus the time. if it's an extra shot it'd be a procedureal penality for each shot fired. if it were me i'd score the 6 best and count the procedurals.