Ruger ar 556 malfunction

Discussion in 'Black Rifle Forum' started by bocephus549, May 24, 2020.

1. bocephus549

bocephus549 Bo Knows.......

Bought the Ruger and fired it for the first time yesterday. Firstmag .223 had 3 malfunctions. Easily cleared no problem. Second mag also .223, first round chambered and the bolt locked forward. Had to mortar it to clear the round. After being cleared emptied all 30 rounds with no malfunction.

Tried all three three magpul mags fully loaded. Chambered a round, removed the mag then tried to clear the live round. Bolt stuck in-forward position the charging handle won’t move it at all. Only way to clear the live round is using the mortar technique to unlock the bolt.

All this was done straight out of the box, no cleaning, no extra lube etc. Do you think this may a serious problem or just a break in issue. I’m new to the AR platform so any advice from the experts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Bo

2. dkf

dkf

All the same ammo? If it was all the same ammo I'd try a different brand, preferably 5.56. Get a bronze chamber brush and some solvent and scrub the chamber. Lube it well with some kind of gun oil. Then shoot it. If it still malfunctions after that I would contact Ruger and then let them deal with it on their dime from there. Unless you want a project. A new AR should not give you these problems. I have never had an AR need a break in period to function.

3. bocephus549

4. rock_castle

rock_castle Proud Nationalist who loves his country

5. DrewBone

DrewBone