close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

RTF2 questions and opinions sought

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by flieger67, Feb 21, 2010.

1. flieger67

flieger67

Hello, all. I recently purchased my first firearm, a Glock 19. I specifically ordered the RTF2 version as I do like the grip texture and the curved slide serrations.

As I'm new to Glocks, I have a few questions for all of the Glock experts around here. I did originally start a similar thread in the G 1 Niner sub-forum but didn't get any responses, so I thought I'd try a wider audience here.

1) As I understand it, the RTF2 is an option on 3rd gen guns. Does anyone have an idea about how many were made and if there is likely to be any future collectiblity to the RTF2 guns? I don't honestly believe that the RTF2's will some sort of "holy grail" to collectors but I was wondering if some of you might have an opinion on possible collectibility.

2) In the "Glock Autopistols 2010" magazine, there's an ad inside the back cover for the RTF2 pistols. All of the pistols pictures have regular straight (non-curved) slide serrations. Were the guns in the picture pre-production models? Are there production RTF2's without the "fish gills"?

Thank you for your time and responses.

2. faawrenchbndr

faawrenchbndr CLM

The "curved" or "fish gill" serrations have been discontinued on the RTF2 models.
    I have a new G21 RTF2, fired casing dated 01/06/10
    Straight serrations,....I love the RTF2. Will get a "fish gill" RTF2 G19 soon

3. flieger67

flieger67

I hope you can get a fish-gill 19. I got one about 4 weeks ago and my local shop was able to source one through their distribution network in less than 48 hours. They may even have one left in stock as I think they took delivery of three when I ordered one (one of the shop employees bought the second one in the shipment.)

By the way, if you're an aircraft mechanic, I thank you for your work. I fly for a living.

4. mteagle1