Router with Apple?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Romadoc, Apr 27, 2007.

  1. Romadoc

    Romadoc

    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2000
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Would it be overdoing things to install a router to protect my new I-mac? Similarly, should I install Avast! as I used to have with my old PC?
     
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    27,590
    Likes Received:
    3,330
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    Using Linux, You and I are in a similar boat. I don't use AV, but definitely still use a Hardware firewall w/ SPI.

    If I had a Mac, I'd probably go in a similar direction.

    IGF
     

  3. Deanster

    Deanster Cheese? CLM Millennium Member

    Messages:
    8,271
    Likes Received:
    3,616
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 1999
    The built-in Mac firewall is quite good, and I trust it, but having a hardware firewall/router is still good practice. Can't hurt, and I think it's a very good idea.

    I run a Linksys router in front of my Mac/Windows machines, and it certainly adds a layer of protection.

    OTOH, I don't run antivirus on my Macs - until there's an actual virus in the wild for macs, there doesn't seem to be much point. I do run ClamAV (of course) on my e-mail server, so I don't transmit any of the 100,000+ Windows virii/etc. inadvertantly.

    I'm not sure that Avast has an OSX build, for much the same reason.
     
  4. grethor

    grethor

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    It's always a good idea to have a good router between your broadband and your network. Pretty much any major brand router will work fine.

    I have a Cisco 2600 on my network, I'm an enthusiast and don't expect everyone to get one of those.
     
  5. freepatriot

    freepatriot Retired GT Mod Moderator

    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Location:
    South FL