close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Router Problems... Please help before I shoot it!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by jtm62, Jun 2, 2007.

  1. jtm62

    jtm62 CLM

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburghish, PA
    Hello everyone,

    My old WRT54GS finally crapped itself two days ago. I bought a new one tonight (a Netgear WNR834B).

    I ran my initial set up... hid my SSID, put a WPA key on it... and I when I feel like doing the extra work... adding the MAC blocker.

    Currently, I have four computers hooked up to the router. Two Via Wireless, and Two Via Wired.

    Here is the PROBLEM! All four computer receive a valid IP address from the router. However, only the two wired computers are able to access the internet. Someone, please, tell me why I can access the network with the wireless machines, but not the internet.

    Since they can talk to the router, and receive an IP, they should be able to access the internet as well, correct? Or did I miss something?

    Thank you,

    Josh
     
  2. Jwickersham

    Jwickersham

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middletown, Oh
    Did you change the gateway IP on the wireless connections?
     

  3. jtm62

    jtm62 CLM

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburghish, PA
    Yes, I completely reconfigured everything yesterday. Apparently, I should have followed my own advice and restarted both computers before getting flustered.

    A restart fixed the problem, but only temporarily.

    Could it be a port forwarding problem? Firewall problem? Anything?

    Only a restart will achieve internet connectivity on both the wireless computers...
     
  4. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Upgrade the firmware on the router. I had a netgear once where DHCP didn't work and had to wait MONTHS for a firmware upgrade.
     
  5. neeko

    neeko

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Why use DHCP, just configure static addresses.
     
  6. boomcat

    boomcat

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Use static IP addresses.

    With dynamic IPs, each time a computer is booted and signs on to the router, it may get the same IP as last session, or it may get a different IP, depending on the order in which the PCs are booted. For applications which use port forwarding, this is unacceptable. Secondly, some wireless printers (like my HP PSC-2510) will become unavailable to certain PCs unless the IP is static. Third, it adds a little bit more security, since you can assign your own IP range, frustrating wireless pirates.