GlockTalk Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd recently purchased an Overwatch Poly DAT trigger to replace the Glock OEM serrated thing that came in my 43x. Once having worked through a minor issue with to get it to function properly I shot with it a few times and have been doing an over-abundance of dry fire training trying to work my own technique bugs out without spending a ton of $$$ at the range. As I began to understand the function I because aware of the feel of the take-up in the trigger. I'm new to striker fire pistols so I didn't know what to expect or how things should feel. From the day I got the 43x I felt this roughness in the OEM trigger as well as the Poly DAT. I thought it was normal (whatever that is) andattributed the rough feel to one of the springs because that's what it sort of felt like. But as I have become more aware of the interfnal functions of my 43x I recognized how trigger pushes the safety plunger out of the way during takeup feeling the roughness during that part of the trigger pull.

So I pulled it apart tthe Glock and checked the safety plunger which was shiny and smooth and functioning perfectly. Then I examined the part of the trigger bar that pushes the plunger out of the way running my fingernail across it feeling for smoothness. Striations and burrs all across that top surface. THAT was what I was feeling.

I hadn't given it a thought before because Overwatch Precision sells their triggers with a "polished" bar and didn't know or think to check. But after discovering the imperfections I knew that it wouldn't take much to get that ough feeling out of it but IMO it had to be done. So some wet (w/flitz) sanding with 1000 grit sand paper, working up to 3000 grit,then a felt buffer polish and I got all the imperfections out of it. And yes, I was extremely careful not to change the geometry or take too much metal.