Rottweiler info needed

Discussion in 'Woof Memorial Critter's Corner' started by glockmagyar, Apr 1, 2007.

1. glockmagyar

glockmagyar

Hello all,

I've had a dog as part of the family since childhood. Currently I am the proud papa of Kozmo the choc lab. He's awesome! Kozmo will be 7 this Thanksgiving and I'm starting now to research into getting another pup by the time he's 9.

I have no real experience with Rotties and would really appreciate hearing from fellow GTers who are. Searching online today I've seen a few pics of some German Rotties and I like their look.

How are these dogs with other dogs? kids?

How much are pups going for now? (Reason why I'm researching 2 yrs out so I can save up some $)

Another breed I might consider is the Dutch Sheperd, but a majestic, muscular and loyal Rottweiler is what I'm looking at right now.

I appreciate any input cause I'm here to learn.

2. Blinky

Blinky Rocket Surgeon

First of all, I love Rotties. The first dog that I had a real relationship with was a 120lbs male Rottie names Moses. As soon as my current situation allows I plan on getting at least one.

That said, Rotties are a powerful breed that require constant and firm leadership. They are a working dog that absolutely need to be exercized. If you don't have time walk this dog, properly, for at least an hour a day then I wouldn't recommend one for you. Schutzhund (protection/attack) training can also be a good way to work your dog. SchH training is a total lifetime commitment for both dog and owner. I only recommend it to the most dedicated of owners. If you don't work the dog somehow, it will become bored and behavior problems can arise. One of the main concern when adopting an older dog is socialization. Considering the fact that Rotties are such a powerful breed, proper socialization is key. With proper socialization and leadership they can be wonderful family dogs, getting along with both kids and other pets. I have a cat that can attest to that fact ;).