Revolver for PA hiking...

Discussion in 'Pennsylvania Glockers Club' started by tat2guy, Nov 8, 2010.

1. tat2guy

tat2guy NRA Life Member Silver Member

OK, a buddy of mine does a lot of hiking. He asked me the other day about carrying a handgun for self defense against potential wildlife attacks. We had a pretty good discussion on the topic, but I am far from an expert here.

He has a .38 and a .357. A new gun is not out of the question, but not tops on his list of discretionary spending, either (hence the mention of the Glock 10mm)

Oh, and he has a License to Carry, as well, so no issue there...

He sent me a follow up email, which I told him I'd put in front of folks who probably know more than I do.

2. tat2guy

tat2guy NRA Life Member Silver Member

In all reality, the wild dogs pose the biggest threat, and I feel either gun would be fine to handle them. The bears are the less likely threat, but need a LOT more stopping power than a .38, and probably a lot more than a .357, unless you get really good brain shots in...

What say youse?

3. Bilbo Bagins

Bilbo Bagins Slacked jawed

I hike a lot in PA, mostly the AT, and the big concerns I face are Black Bears and 2 legged creeps.

Right now I carry a Kel Tec PF9, which should cover 2 legged predators, coyotes, wild dogs, and if you run into one a Cougar. The odds of you running into a Eastern Cougar are really, really slim, but a 9mm should do the job.

9mm is light for Black Bear, but in a pinch it will do,but I'm less than confident. Black Bears in PA do get big, but they will back off if you make some noise. The problem is the idiots who don't hang their food and keep it in their tent or the camp area and a hungry bear comes into camp when everyone is asleep. You might also do the classic startle a mom bear and her cubs. It rare that you will every have a problem with a Black Bear when hiking but attack do happen every once in a while in PA.