Replace Barrel For Accuracy ?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by ctkenc, Feb 22, 2010.

1. ctkenc

ctkenc

I'm new to Glocks; bought a new G34 2 weeks ago and have fired about 750 Rounds through it so far. Runs perfectly with any kind of ammo but accuracy is not good.
    I'm coming from 1911's with great accuracy .... I shoot IDPA and frequently need the accuracy to hit the head zone at distances.
    Bench rested the new G34 and shot Bullseye Targets on indoor range at 25 ft ... good results, then moved out to 50 ft and continued bench rested with poor results :faint:

I shot it in an IDPA Classifier and it cost me enough points to miss Sharpshooter Class by a few points ... targets that should have been an easy no brainer did not score ... baffled me as to how I missed the shot.

Yesterday I shot at 25ft and 50 ft, freehand, in a comparison test with my old Colt 1911 9mm Gold Cup, National Match and my G34 .... the Colt would group all shots in a tight group at either distance (tighter at 25 ft than 50 ft due to me old eyes). The G34 sprayed them all over the place at 50 ft and was nowhere near as good at 25ft as the Colt 1911.

I know this may sound weird, but, I really like the G34 and want it to work but I've got to find a way to get more accuracy from it.
    Would a Replacement barrel be likely to improve the results in a meaningful way and if so, which replacement barrel do you think would contribute the most ?
    thanks
    ken

2. HK Dan

HK Dan

The GLOCK trigger takes some getting used to. Usually when I see a new GLOCK shooter throwing 12 gauge sized groups, he's trying to work the trigger like a precision rifle. This will be counter-intuitive; use a smooth, brisk, straight press rather than working it back to the break and adding pressure slowly.

You'll also need to give it a bit more trigger finger as compared to your 1911. I run with the right side of the trigger almost touching the crease at the first joint.